

Annual General Meeting

Assemblée générale annuelle

Wednesday, February 12th, 2014, at 12:00 pm in the Cadieux Auditorium 125 Sussex Drive, Ottawa.

le mercredi 12 février 2014, à 12h00 à l'auditorium Cadieux, 125, promenade Sussex, Ottawa.

MINUTES

12 || 2014

MINUTES

Gordon McAllister, President, presided the Annual General Meeting.

1. Call meeting to Order.

The meeting was called to order at 12:18 p.m. Gordon McAllister, President, chaired the meeting.

2. Introduction of the Executive

The executive in attendance were as follows:

Gordon McAllister, President Stéphane Allard, 1st Vice-President Helen Miller, 3rd Vice-President Chantal Di Franco, Treasurer Jean Lalonde, Health and Safety Officer Archie Campbell, Chief Shop Steward Christine Comtois, Human Rights Officer

Regrets:

Kinga Nogrady, 2nd Vice-President and Interim Secretary

Introduction of Guests

The UNE representatives who were present at the meeting were as follows: Doug Marshall, UNE President Karl Lafrenière, Assistant Regional Vice-President, Outside Canada Joanne Castonguay, PSAC Regional Office, Gatineau Rose Touhey, Assistant Vice-President, Outside Canada

The executive were not introduced at the meeting and a verbal complaint was received by the members.

3. Adoption of the proposed Agenda

Gordon reviewed the proposed agenda. A modification was proposed that the election be held prior to the budget.

Ahmed Suleman moved that the revised agenda be adopted. Peggy Coupland seconded the motion. All were in favour and the agenda was passed at 12:20 p.m.

4. Address by Doug Marshall, UNE President

Doug Marshall addressed the members, speaking about Bill C-4, which takes away the democratic rights of federal public sector employees and seriously undermines the health and safety protections in the Canada Labour Code covering workers under federal jurisdiction.

There were two questions from the floor; one regarding the implication of Bill C4 on Health & Safety and the other on how leave will be affected.

5. Election of Executive Positions

The Chair introduced the guests and indicated that Karl Lafreniere was presiding the elections. Stephane Allard clarified that Helen Miller/Third Vice-President would be leaving/stepping down thus adding the position to be elected.

Karl Lafreniere took over the Chairing at 12:36 p.m. He reviewed the rules of order for the elections.

The following positions were up for election:

President 2nd Vice-President 3rd Vice-President Secretary Health and Safety Officer

Karl indicated that a nomination had been submitted for Gordon McAllister as <u>President</u>.
Karl asked for any other nominations. There was no response.
A second request for nominations was put forth without response.
A third request for nominations was put forth without response.
Gordon McAllister was accepted and acclaimed as President at 12:39 p.m.

Karl indicated that no nominations had been submitted for the position of 2^{nd} <u>Vice President</u>. Karl asked for any nominations.

Behiye Cinkilic was nominated by Peggy Coupland and Christine Comtois.

Gloria Castro was nominated by Julie Pineau and Archie Campbell.

Pierre Lamy was nominated by George Heissler and Jean-Louis Giroux.

The three candidates were each provided 3 minutes to address the membership. The candidates were offered to have scrutiner and refused, as such votes being counted by Joanne Castonguay and Doug Marshall at 12:50 p.m.

While ballots were counted, Gordon addressed the membership indicating that he was participating on the HR Sub-committee as an employee and not a union representative. He indicated that Daniel Jean, when at Heritage Canada, spoke individually to staff on each floor concerning WFA. He noted that this was a different approach than DFAIT. He also noted that no reduction of staff has been planned or contemplated.

Karl resumed chairing the meeting at 12:55 p.m. with the results for 2nd V-P: There were 4 spoiled ballots. Behiye Cinkilic received 15 votes. Gloria Castro received 19 votes. Pierre Lamy received 24 votes.

Doug Marshall intervened at 12:57 p.m expressing the need for a second ballot for 2nd Vice-President. As per the UNE bylaws, an executive must win with a majority of votes. As such, a second round of voting occurred between the 2 candidates with the highest votes, which were Gloria Castro and Pierre Lamy

Voting took place and counted by Joanne Castonguay, Rose Touhey and Doug Marshall.

Gord took over the meeting at 1:01 p.m. Gloria Castro made queries regarding the budget and he advised that the budget would be dealt with at the AGM Part B.

Karl Lafreniere resumed chairing the meeting at 1:04 p.m. with the election results for the 2^{nd} Vice-President (2^{nd} ballot).

There were no spoiled ballots. Gloria Castro received 16 votes. Pierre Lamy received 39 votes.

Pierre Lamy was accepted and acclaimed as 2nd Vice President at 1:05 p.m.

Karl indicated that no nominations had been submitted for the position of 3^{rd} <u>Vice President</u> at 12:56 p.m.

Karl asked for any nominations.

Behiye Cinkilic was nominated by Peggy Coupland and Helen Miller. Gloria Castro was nominated by Archie Campbell and Julie Pineau. Harold Theriault was nominated by Stephane Allard and Danielle Sarra-Bournet.

Each candidate addressed the membership for 3 minutes.

Gordon addressed the membership at 1:15 p.m., introducing Stephane Allard followed by Archie Campbell at 1:20 p.m.

Karl Lafreniere resumed chairing the meeting at 1:21 p.m.to announce the results of the 3^{rd} Vice-President election:

Gloria Castro received 12 votes. Behiye Cinkilic received 14 votes. Harold Theriault received 22 votes. Because no candidates held a majority of votes, a 2nd ballot between Behiye Cinkilic and Harold Theriault was conducted.

During the voting, Archie Campbell continuing his address to the members, and Christine Comtois addressed the membership.

Karl Lafreniere resumed chairing the meeting at 1:25 p.m. to announce the result of the 2^{nd} ballot for the position of 3^{rd} Vice-President:

Beiye Cinkilic received 19 votes. Harold Thériault received 23 votes.

Harold Thériault was accepted and acclaimed as 3rd Vice President at 1:26 p.m.

Karl Lafreniere called for nominations for the position of Secretary.

Kinga Nogrady was nominated by Gordon Mcallister and Jean Lalonde. Behiye Cinkilic was nominated by Peggy Coupland and Christine Comtois

Each candidate was given 3 minutes to address the membership. Gordon Mcallister spoke on behalf of Kinga Nogrady.

Ballots were cast and Karl Lafreniere communicated the result of the election at 1:33 p.m.: Behiye Cinkilic received 8 votes. Kinga Nogrady received 18 votes.

Kinga Nogrady was accepted and acclaimed Secretary at 1:34 p.m.

Karl indicated that 1 nomination had been submitted for the position of Health and Safety Officer.

Jean Lalonde was nominated by Christine Comtois and Gordon McAllister.

Karl asked for any other nominations. There was no response. A second request for nominations was put forth without response. A third request for nominations was put forth without response.

Jean Lalonde was accepted and acclaimed as Health and Safety Officer at 1:35 p.m.

Karl requested a motion to destroy the ballots. Gloria Castro moved that the ballots be destroyed and Gordon McAllister seconded the motion. The ballots were destroyed at 13:36 p.m.

6. Adjournment

Christine Comtois moved that the meeting be adjourned. The meeting was adjourned at 1:36 p.m.

The Oath of Office for the newly elected Local Executive Members occurred at 1:37 p.m.

Minutes drafted by: Jean Lalonde, Health and Safety Officer